Dehnen

The introduction to traditional martial arts usually begins with stance exercises. There is a multitude of different stances in Chinese martial arts. We will show you our basic Zaat Ma exercise, in which you can practice the four most important stances in Hung Kuen.

Stance training as the foundation

Regardless of whether you practice kung fu, taichi, karate, taekwondo or another traditional martial art, the beginning looks very similar in all systems. Usually you learn the most common stands from the respective system at the start. And for good reason, because stance training not only improves strength and endurance, but also ensures the right strength development and body mechanics when combined.

But there are also very basic, simple goals of stance exercises. For example, one should first train to coordinate the feet, or build a better awareness and feeling for one's own body by holding the stances steadily.

Stance training forms our foundation as a martial artist. Without a stable position, we cannot develop strength, cannot perform punches correctly and block our own freedom of movement and responsiveness.

For privacy reasons Youtube needs your permission to be loaded. Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter Impressum & Datenschutz.
ACCEPT

Our Zaat Ma basic exercise

The Zaat Ma basic exercise was developed by the Wu family and represents an important component of our basic training. No matter whether you are a beginner or a professional, the exercise is equally important for both and should always be repeated regularly. In the Zaat Ma basic exercise, the four most important stances are taught as a combination:

  • Ma Bou o. Sei Ping Ma
  • Gong Bou o. Zi Ng Ma
  • Heoi Bou o. Diu Ma
  • Kei Lun Bou

These four stances usually form the foundation of Hung Kuen. In addition, they are all stances, which beginners learn in our introductory form of Yap Mun Kuen / Jap Mun Kyun. Of course there are many other stances, both in Hung Kuen (Hung Gar, Hung Kyun) and in other systems of Chinese martial arts. For starters, these four are the most important.

Mabou bzw. Sei Ping Ma
Gungbou bzw. Zi Ng Ma
Heoibou bzw. Diu Ma
Keilun Bou

WHAT DOES ZAAT MA MEAN?

The name Zaat Ma is the Cantonese pronunciation of the two characters and . Zaat () stands for "tie up / tie up" and Ma () stands for both the horse and the stance ( especially in martial arts). This can literally be translated as "tying up the horse / tying up the stance". In the context of Chinese martial arts, this term simply means that one should stand firmly.

Over time, this term has come back into Cantonese slang. Since standing training is associated with hard, sweaty training that requires a lot of discipline and endurance, one describes a person who “stands up to someone” with 紮 哂 馬 (Zaat Saai Ma ), which can be translated as 'one who holds up well'.

YIN-YANG-TRAINING

Even though yin and yang is a well-known theoretical concept, one should not read too much of this theory into the basic Zaat Ma exercise. Here it is important to put yin and yang in the context of Chinese language usage. Yin and Yang describe pairs of opposites that interact with one another or that alternate in the foreground. In martial arts, therefore, yin and yang are usually meant "alternately".

In the sense of the Zaat Ma basic exercise, the combination can be carried out equally on both the right and the left side. In addition, both sides of the Zaat Ma partner exercise are carried out by both partners.

An expandable system

The Zaat Ma basic exercise is not just a simple stance training. This basic exercise can be expanded with various elements. It accompanies us from the beginning to the advanced level.

The function of the stance training is first of all that we learn the basic stances when we start. The individual stances can later be expanded using hand techniques. So we get a complete sequence of movements.

These individual movements (stances with hand techniques) can then be trained in isolation with a training partner as a "pendulum drill". Like the pendulum on a pendulum clock, a combination of the basic exercise "back and forth" is carried out and repeated.

After that, even a short parter routine (紮馬 對 拆 Zaat Ma Deoi Chaak) can be trained on the basis of the Zaat Ma basic exercise. If the regular version of the Zaat Ma is, for example, side A, the associated side B must be added for the partner form. This includes the same four basic stands with a slight variation.

Pendel-Drill
Zaat Ma Partnerform (Zaat Ma Deoi Chaak)

Our Zaat Ma basic exercise is ideal as part of a larger training program or just as a short workout. Not only is the base learned in the form of stance and hand techniques, you also learn important core principles from the Hung Kuen system through the "pendulum drills" and the partner routine. Stances, footwork, precision, a sense of distance and understanding of these core principles improve in the long run.

So, practice, practice and practice!

You are welcome to comment or share the post. Let us know how you liked it and leave us feedback.

Subscribe

Dehnen

Der Einstieg in die traditionellen Kampfkünste beginnt in der Regel mit Standübungen. Es gibt in der chinesischen Kampfkunst eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Ständen. Wir zeigen Dir unsere Zaat Ma Grundübung, in der  Du die vier wichtigsten Stände im Hung Kuen üben kannst.

Standtraining als Einstieg

Unabhängig davon ob man nun Kungfu, Taichi, Karate, Taekwondo oder eine andere traditionelle Kampfkunst trainiert, der Anfang sieht in allen Systemen sehr ähnlich aus. Normalerweise lernt man zum Einstieg die gängigsten Stände aus dem jeweiligen System. Und das aus gutem Grund, denn Standtraining verbessert nicht nur die Kraft und Ausdauer, sondern sorgt bei Kombinationen auch für die richtige Kraftentwicklung und Körpermechanik.

Es gibt aber auch ganz elementare, einfache Ziele von Standübungen. Zum Beispiel sollte man für den Einsteig erst mal die Koordination der Füße trainieren oder durch statisches Halten der Stände ein besseres Bewusstsein und Gefühl für den eigenen Körper aufbauen.

Standtraining bildet unser Fundament als Kampfkünstler oder Kampfsportler. Ohne einen stabilen Stand können wir keine Kraft entwickeln, können Schläge nicht korrekt ausführen und blockieren unsere eigene Bewegungsfreiheit und Reaktionsfähigkeit.

Aus datenschutzrechlichen Gründen benötigt YouTube Ihre Einwilligung um geladen zu werden. Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter Impressum & Datenschutz.
Akzeptieren

Unsere Zaat Ma Grundübung

Die Zaat Ma Grundübung wurde von der Familie Wu entwickelt und stellt einen wichtigen Baustein unseres Basistrainings dar. Egal ob nun Einsteiger oder Profi, die Übung ist für beide gleichermaßen wichtig und sollte stets regelmäßig wiederholt werden. In der Zaat Ma Grundübung werden die vier wichtigsten Stände als Kombination beigebracht:

  • Ma Bou o. Sei Ping Ma
  • Gong Bou o. Zi Ng Ma
  • Heoi Bou o. Diu Ma
  • Kei Lun Bou

Diese vier Stände bilden in der Regel das Fundament vom Hung Kuen. Außerdem sind es alle Stände, welche Einsteiger dann in unserer Einführungs-Faustform Yap Mun Kuen/Jap Mun Kyun lernen. Natürlich gibt es noch viele weitere Stände, sowohl im Hung Kuen (Hung Gar, Hung Kyun) als auch in anderen Systemen der chinesischen Kampfkunst. Für den Anfang sind aber diese vier am wichtigsten.

Mabou bzw. Sei Ping Ma
Gungbou bzw. Zi Ng Ma
Heoibou bzw. Diu Ma
Keilun Bou

WAS BEDEUTET ZAAT MA?

Der Name Zaat Ma ist die kantonesische Aussprache der beiden Zeichen und . Zaat () steht für „festbinden/anfesseln“ und Ma () steht sowohl für das Pferd als auch den Stand (vor allem in der Kampfkunst). Wortwörtlich lässt sich das als „das Pferd anbinden/den Stand festbinden“ übersetzen. Im Kontext der chinesischen Kampfkunst bedeutet dieser Begriff lediglich, dass man einen Stand halten soll.

Im Laufe der Zeit ist dieser Begriff dann wieder in die kantonesische Umgangssprache eingegangen. Da mit Standtraining ein hartes, schweißtreibendes Training assoziiert wird, das viel Disziplin und Ausdauer benötigt, beschreibt man eine Person die jemandem „die Stirn bietet“ auch mit 紮哂馬 (Zaat Saai Ma), was sich als ‚Einer, der sich gut behauptet‘ übersetzen lässt.

YIN-YANG-ÜBUNG

Auch wenn Yin und Yang ein allgemein bekanntes theoretisches Konzept ist, sollte man nicht zuviel von dieser Theorie in die Zaat Ma Grundübung hineininterpretieren. Hier ist es wichtig, Yin und Yang in den Kontext des chinesischen Sprachgebrauchs zu setzen. Yin und Yang beschreibt Gegensatzpaare, die in Wechselwirkung zueinander stehen bzw. die abwechselnd im Vordergrund stehen. In der Kampfkunst ist daher mit Yin und Yang meist „abwechselnd“ gemeint.

Im Sinne der Zaat Ma Grundübung lässt sich also die Kombination sowohl auf der rechten als auch der linken Seite gleichermaßen ausführen. Zusätzlich werden bei der Zaat Ma Partnerübung jeweils beide Seiten von beiden Partnern ausgeführt.

Ein erweiterbares System

Die Zaat Ma Grundübung ist allerdings nicht nur ein einfaches Standtraining. Diese Grundübung ist durch verschiedene Elemente erweiterbar. Sie begleitet uns vom Einstieg bis hin zum Fortgeschrittenen-Level.

Die Funktion des Standtrainings ist zunächst, dass wir beim Einstieg die Basisstände erlernen. Später können die einzelnen Stände durch Handtechniken erweitert werden. Somit erhalten wir eine vollständige Bewegungsabfolge.

Diese einzelnen Bewegungen (Stände mit Handtechniken) kann man dann mit einem Trainingspartner isoliert als „Pendel-Drill“ trainieren. Wie das Pendel bei einer Pendeluhr wird eine Kombination aus der Grundübung „vor und zurück“ ausgeführt und wiederholt.

Danach kann auf Basis der Zaat Ma Grundübung sogar eine kurze Partnerform (紮馬對拆 Zaat Ma Deoi Chaak) trainiert werden. Wenn die reguläre Ausführung der Zaat Ma bspw. Seite A ist, muss die zugehörige Seite B für die Partnerform hinzukommen. Diese beinhaltet dieselben vier Basisstände in leichter Variation.

Pendel-Drill
Zaat Ma Partnerform (Zaat Ma Deoi Chaak)

Unsere Zaat Ma Grundübung eignet sich prima als Bestandteil eines größeren Trainingsprogramms oder nur als kurzes Workout. Nicht nur wird die Basis in Form von Ständen und Handtechniken gelernt, man lernt durch die „Pendel-Drills“ und die Partnerform auch wichtige Kernprinzipien aus dem Hung Kuen System. Auf Dauer verbessern sich Stände, Beinarbeit, Präzision, Distanzgefühl und das Verständnis für diese Kernprinzipien.

Also, üben, üben, üben!

Du bist herzlich eingeladen den Beitrag zu kommentieren oder zu teilen. Lass uns wissen, wie er Dir gefallen hat und hinterlasse uns Feedback.

ANMELDEN